Wish-fulfillment

I sit down at the table, glancing slightly nervously at the endless queue of hundred – no, thousand in front of me. I stretch my fingers, take out my pen and nod. The first person is let forth.

“Who shall I sign that for?” I ask.

“My name’s Marie”, she says, handing over the book – my book. “I just wanted to say that I’m a huge fan of yours, your books made me start writing!”

We all do it and we all enjoy it, be it daydreaming in class or just brainstorming on the bus. We see ourselves as stars, instant successes, imagine interviews and book signings, planning out exactly what we’re going to say. This is the day to let it all out: write the ultimate wish-fulfillment story. Bigger than life, filled with masses of fans, thousands of bestsellers, huge blogs, millions of jobs and yet tons of free time, spa trips, luxury hotels, fine meals and great company… Photo by Bill Longshore.

This entry was posted in writing ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

